Spit out your Cheerios right this second, because that nightmare where you accidentally consume traces of wheat flour has just come true. General Mills announced on Monday that they’re recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were labeled gluten-free, but which actually contain small amounts of the grain due to an error at their factories in California.
The affected boxes have been taken off store shelves, but anyone who has purchased one recently should take precaution. People with wheat allergies or celiac disease might suffer allergic reactions or discomfort from eating the cereal, not to mention those with fake dietary restrictions who will now need to overcompensate by pretending to have these side effects. Speaking of which, I'm going to need serious medical assistance as soon as possible.
As part of their press release, General Mills stated that anyone negatively impacted by the recall can contact the company for a replacement box or a refund. A replacement box? No thanks. After the trauma just experienced I think it’s safe to say that we’re all done with cereal for a while.